Meet Our New Volunteer Specialist!

lizzyMeet our new Volunteer & Outreach Specialist, Lizzy! Lizzy just moved from Oregon to join our team and has already made a number of community connections!

Find out more about Lizzy in the interview below, including her favorite restaurant in Denver.

What made you interested in working for Mi Casa?
Mi Casa perfectly aligned with my goal of working in a Latino-focused resource center, and I was impressed by its history and multifaceted programs.

Describe your job responsibilities at Mi Casa.
I oversee the volunteer-run Job Seeker Program. My role is to grow and create a self-sustaining Volunteer program after my AmeriCorps term ends.

Where is your hometown?
My hometown is Flagstaff, Arizona, but other hometowns include Portland, Oregon and San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas.

Where have you traveled?
I’ve been so blessed to have lived briefly in Mexico and also visited Panama and Guatemala. I have also lived on the Mediterranean island of Malta, and visited a dozen other countries in Eastern and Western Europe.  I love to travel internationally, but some of my favorite destinations have been camping and backpacking trips right here in the U.S.

Where else have you worked and in what position?
I have worked in both administration and direct services for a number of nonprofit organizations, sometimes as an employee, more often as an intern or volunteer.  I dabbled in behavioral health social work for two years, but most of my work has been community development oriented.  The highlights include public health outreach at Portland’s Consulate General of Mexico, grant writing at Huerto de la Familia, employment advocacy at Centro Latino Americano, community organizing with Repeal Coalition for Latinos, and research, writing and outreach for the Sierra Club Tribal Partnership Program.

Describe yourself in 3 words.
Kind, eats chocolate.

What is your favorite restaurant in Denver and why?
The Denver Bicycle Cafe. They fixed up my bike and they have deliciously strong coffee.

What are your favorite pastimes?
I love walking my dog, riding my bike, being outdoors, hiking, camping, cooking, taking care of my houseplants, learning to garden, and happy hours.

Do you volunteer anywhere in the community?
I volunteer at an urban farm called the GrowHaus in their Food Box Program and Mercado del Lado.

If you are interested in learning more about volunteer opportunities at Mi Casa, do not hesitate to contact Lizzy at 303-539-5631 or LizMiskell@MiCasaResourceCenter.org.

This entry was posted in Career Center. Bookmark the permalink.